Acrylic Painting Wrap-up

Hard to believe that this is one of my final posts for ECMP355 and convocation will be here in the spring.

Looking at my progress of painting from December to the first week in April.  I hope you can see an improvement because I sure can.  To bring those up to speed on my learning project.  For my ECMP355 class I was to target a skill that is complex to learn, worth learning, and of great interest, and online sources must be used to learn the skill.  At the beginning of the semester, my brother had shown me a video of Bob Ross.  His paintings were calming and relaxing to watch.  After internship I decided maybe painting would be something that is calming for me, as I don’t really have that hobby I can focus on.

Blog Posts on Painting 101 with Curtis

Exploring the Joy of Painting: 

Painting #1: Landscape Painting, The Waterfall:

  • My first painting following the tutorial by Allison Prior.
  • Ironically, this is one of my favourite paintings.
  • I learned the techniques of painting clouds, trees, water, waterfalls, and rocks.

Painting #2: Effective Shade

  • Second painting using the tutorial of 20160120_113719Clive5Art
  • Learned alternative strategies for trees and clouds, as well as stars.
  • Purchased a phone tripod and wanted to practice creating a video, using the video editor app available for Samsung phones.


Painting #3: Painting 101 – Painting with Curtis Snapchat-451535744142607535

  • Another painting tutorial of Allison Prior’s 
  • I wanted to try a variety of paintings, thus, I choose this country scene.
  • Practiced a sunset, grass, big trees, and a cabin.

Painting #4: Life’s a Beach

  • This is my least favourite painting.  I was 2016-04-04 09.01.11very disappointed and frustrated with how it turned out.
  • It is tropical beach scene tutorial by Allison Prior.
  • Focused on a new technique of wet-on-wet, a difficult technique for acrylic paint users.
  • I reached out to Allison Prior on Twitter, however never did hear back from her.

Painting #5: The Magic of Painting – With Curtis2016-04-04 09.00.46

  • This painting I decided I wanted to see what I could do with limited additional help.
  • I used previous techniques used in my paintings to make something my own.
  • The new technique I learned in this painting is the creation of mountains.

Painting #6: Fall Woods, Easy Beginner TutorialA Clive5Art tutorial, one of the top three paintings I have done.

  • Techniques include wet-on-wet, creation of shrubs, and birch trees, and using blending for the grass.
  • Gained experience filming my own video using a GoPro and iMovie.2016-04-04 08.59.31

Painting #7: Golden Glow, A Bob Ross Tribute

  • Bob Ross created a painting similar to mine, Clive5Art provides a tutorial using acrylic paintings instead of oil paints.
  • This painting is one I am very proud of. It is easily my favourite piece.
  • I was able to create my first stop motion video of me painting Golden Glow.  

For those of you who have followed along with my painting, and are thinking about learning to paint yourself, here are some excellent websites I recommend.

Will Kemp Art School – This website provides a beginner artist the basics about are (I found this halfway through my project). However, it would be an excellent resource for someone wondering where to begin.

Howcast – Provides painting tutorials, experimenting with different painting techniques.

Craftsy – A blog that goes over 13 different painting techniques.

These three websites will provide you some direction if you are looking into painting.  If you believe that you can’t paint, because you aren’t talented enough, or you think that you aren’t patient enough.  I can understand what you are feeling as I was the same way.  However, painting is not that difficult.  You paint in layers, and it requires practice.  However, anyone can do it.  Over a term of 4 months, I believe my progress has been massive.  If we compare my baseline painting compared to my last painting that makes my progress more visual, and truthfully the last painting wasn’t all that difficult.

Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 8.55.12 PM.png

Leave a Reply

