Coding? How can I use code in the Classroom?

According to an article by International Business Times, “Coding is basically telling a computer what you want it to do, which involves typing in step-by-stepcommands for the computer to follow”.

Through my experience in coding using both Code Academy and Hour of Code I began to learn the basics of coding.  Through Code Academy I was able to create the earth orbiting the sun, as well as my name in bubble letters (shown below).  I am still curious as to how people can write this code and create brand new things on computers.  None the less I believe that code is becoming more popular and is an option for students to explore. Hour of Code and Code Academy are excellent tools to introduce coding in the classroom.

 

Coding is important according to International Business Times because it is estimated that in the next 10 years there will be 1.4 million jobs in computer sciences and only 400,000 graduates to fill them.  Students should be exposed to computer science as it is becoming more and more relevant in the 21st century.

25264554055_f28a283640.jpgPhoto Credit: timsackton via Compfight cc

Some teachers may question, How can I teach code when I have no experience in coding? “According to a post by Edutopia, One of the solutions is to provide students with the resources and send them on their way.”

As Chris Bosh said in the video, “Coding can be intimidating. But what isn’t?”.  I think this hits the nail on the head for my experience.

These are some tools that you teachers can use to add coding to classroom learning.  Code_by_Math, Code Avengers, Made with Code, or various apps that can be found through Common Sense Media.

Just remember: “You don’t need to be a genius to code”.

 

One thought on “Coding? How can I use code in the Classroom?

  1. I enjoy and can strongly relate to the quotation “Coding can be intimidating. But what isn’t?” like you mentioned. I did in fact find it intimidating, especially in class last week when they were using numbers. But every new subject or activity that you are first introduced to has an intimidating factor. The more and more that you work on it or practice, the less intimidating it gets! All we have to do is try and it will all get easier!

    Great Post, Curtis!

Leave a Reply

