The Magic of Painting – With Curtis

20160306_125022I completed my first painting with limited use of tutorials.  On the painting, I just did I used many different types of techniques that I had used in other paintings.  I decided that I would give it a try and see what I would come up with.  Again, I was following Allision Prior’s art techniques for the painting of the sky, and the rocks, and water.  But I decided to put some mountains in the distance.  The mountains is what I needed some assistance with.  I followed a YouTube video, narrated a video by Microsoft Sam, which gave me the outline of what to complete.

I took his technique and applied it to my own painting.  The mountains turned out pretty good.  I enjoy how the darker mountains appear closer than the lighter coloured mountains.  Overall, I was pleased with the way that these mountains turned out.  The one downfall that I found using the layering method of painting is that it is very time consuming as I have to wait for each step to dry.  One painting can take up to 3-4 hours allowing each layer to dry.
2016-03-06 13.23.34.jpg

The next step I followed the videos from my first painting, Landscape Painting, The Waterfall, and tried to recreate it the best I could.  However, I don’t think it turned out exactly how I wanted it to be.

Overall I was generally impressed as this piece was used with very little tutorials and I was able to use techniques I learned from other paintings to create this waterfall painting.  The finished painting is below!

2016-03-06 13.45.54.jpg

2 thoughts on “The Magic of Painting – With Curtis

  1. Those are awesome Curtis! It’s crazy to think that we can learn almost anything off of Youtube and you’re definitely proving that! I love that you share photos with us so that we can see your progress! It would be neat to see an overall progress snapshot to see where you started and where you are now. Do you have any specific paintings you hope to accomplish in the near future? or when you feel ready?

  2. Pingback: Acrylic Painting Wrap-up | Curtis Bourassa

Leave a Reply

