Effective Shade

I couldn’t come up with a name.  But, thank god for the internet.  There is abstract art name generator.  Needless to say it spit out, the title “Effective Shade” and I said good enough!20160120_113719

For this beautiful nighttime scene I followed a tutorial by Clive5art.  This guy makes it look easy.  Well… It isn’t easy.  I couldn’t get the clouds right, the trees right, or the sky the way I wanted it.  But it turned out okay. I really enjoy the shading of this piece.

This painting I did on a 8″ by 10″ canvas purchased at the dollar store.  It took me roughly 45 minutes for this painting. Clive5Art is a British artist, who posts lots of different art tutorials.  They are quick and what he calls “easy” paintings. One thing that I really liked about this video, is the set up of it.  You can always see what paint he is using and what brush he is using.  However, he moves very fast through his work.  I ended up watching him three or four times, to check to see what I had missed.  I think I will also go back and check out some of his other tutorial videos to see what he has done in his other “painting challenges”.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Effective Shade

  1. Hey Curtis,
    I love how honest you are about the name of your blog post. You make me laugh. I also love how you sped up that video of yourself to show your painting process!! So cool. What program did you use to do that?

    Just one tip for you – you should include a picture of your finished painting so everyone can see how it turned out! I know it looks great because I saw it in person, but I’m sure other readers are very curious.

    Keep up the good work!

  2. Hi Raquel!

    I just used the video editor on my Samsung S6! It allowed me to put in music clips, apply filters, clean up the video a bit, as well as the sped-up/slow-mo, it was really easy to use. If you need help finding it let me know.

    I’ll also edit my post to show everyone what my painting looks like!

  3. Pingback: Acrylic Painting Wrap-up | Curtis Bourassa

Leave a Reply

