Exploring the Joy of Painting

The Project

In #EMCP355 one of our major projects is the #LearningProject.   I will be sharing online something significant that I would like to learn, and share my progress through my blog and as well as Twitter. The catch is that we must learn this skill through online sources.  I struggled to come up with an idea of what to do.  I knew coming into the class that I had to complete this learning project.  After some thought I decided that one of the skills that I think would be neat to attempt to learn is how to paint. Specifically I want to get into painting using oil paints. However, as young painting legend, and fellow friend Kelsey explained it may be wise to start out with acrylic painting.

Screen Shot 2016-01-07 at 4.18.00 PM

After some consideration and some careful deliberation I decided it might be wise to take up Kelsey’s advice.

My Experience Painting

I have never been much of a painter.  In the few attempts that I have tried I found painting to be very frustrating because I was unable to manipulate the paint the way I wanted it.  I remember growing up and doing little painting crafts with mom, and a little bit of painting during school.  Other than that I would say my painting is very limited.  I have have not taken an art class since I was in grade 7.

One of the reasons why I want to begin trying to paint is because of the painting legend Bob Ross.  Watching Bob Ross paint is oddly enough one of the most satisfying things a person can do.  There are many painting tutorials posted on YouTube, some of which I am excited to explore.  In the painting tutorials that I have watched Bob has a very laid back attitude. While Bob is painting he does not have a care in the world.  In a conversation with Bob someone once said, “‘Bob, everything in your world seems to be happy.’ [Bob replied], ‘ Thatbob-ross_18‘s why I paint.  It’s because I can create the kind of world that I want, and I can make this world as happy as I want it'”.   I feel as Bob uses painting to share not only his passion but also as a way to cope with stress in his life.   I hope that through painting I find a way to find peace and maybe a way that I can deal with stress.

I am very excited to get started with painting, exploring different techniques, and sharing my learning with others along the way.  I managed to scrounge up some acrylic paint I found at the back of my desk, and bought some new paint brushes, and some cheap canvases from the Dollar Store.  After consulting the Acrylic Painting for Dummies Guide I noticed that it would be wise to invest in a palette knife, and a palette, but student budget says paper plates will have to do for now.

Keep posted for videos, photos, and tweets as my painting experience begins!

And remember,

“You too can paint almighty pictures” – Bob Ross

 

 

 

One thought on “Exploring the Joy of Painting

  1. Pingback: Acrylic Painting Wrap-up | Curtis Bourassa

Leave a Reply

