My Goals for My Field Placement

Throughout my field placement I want it to be a growing experience for me. I do not have a lot of experience teaching in the classroom so I have a few goals that I want to work on. I will improve on these goals by going to Davin Elementary School once a week for 8 Wednesdays in the grade 8 class which I am placed. With the help of Tammy I am confident I will be able to reach my goals.

Goal one: Saying “Um”

Making sure that reduce the times I say “um” while teaching a lesson plan. I know I will struggle with this because I always have had difficulty kicking the habit. I want Tammy to help me pick up on all the times I say “um” and help me reduce the number of times I say “um” by the end of the semester. Making it less and less each week.

Goal two: Classroom Management

I think classroom management is very important. I want to make sure that I can keep my classroom under control. I want to watch how my co-op teacher Natalie keeps her classroom under control. I want to take notes of what works best for maintaining a calm and collective classroom. To complete this goal I will keep track of what Natalie does to keep control, and I will work on using these techniques in my class.

 Goal three: Staying calm and not getting jumpy and making sure my voice projects clearly.

I want my students to be engaged when I am teaching; I want them to be paying attention to what I have to say, and on task. I think for me to help make this goal, I have to keep calm and make sure that what I’m saying makes sense. I need to make sure that my voice is projecting clearly. To reach this goal I want Tammy to make sure that I am able to clearly project my voice and that I do not look nervous.

Leave a Reply

