Introduction & Why I Want to be a Teacher

My name is Curtis Bourassa, and I am in my third year in the middle years program here at the University of Regina. To begin, I would like to thank you for letting me teach in your school. I am very excited to get into the classroom and start teaching as a part of the pre-internship program.

I was born and raised in Weyburn, where there is not a whole lot to do for teenagers. However, I did find a lot of enjoyment in volunteering and working with different people. I have had the opportunity to volunteer with youth with special needs and young adults aged three to twenty one, as well as with at-risk youth in a variety of different programs. I enjoyed my experiences with these people because it is so rewarding. Being a part of the Big Brothers and Big Sisters program is part of the reason that led me in the direction to follow a career in education. The Big Brothers program is very gratifying in the fact that you have the opportunity to be a role model and make a difference in a young child’s life.

I want to be a teacher because I have always enjoyed going to school and helping others, even from a young age. In my school experiences one of my biggest role models was one of my interns in grade nine. He has had a major impact on my decision to go into education. I believe this shows that you do not have to have a lot of experience to make an impression on students. My goal is to be a positive role model for the students in all the classrooms I walk into.

I believe teaching is not only about teaching students how to learn. Teaching is about making a difference by being an example for others, and continuing our growth as learners ourselves. I am excited to begin my teaching journey, as this pre-internship is a major milestone on the way. I would like to thank you again for being a part of my journey, as this will give me the opportunity to learn from the best allowing me to grow and learn along my way to becoming a teacher.

Sincerely,
Curtis Bourassa

Leave a Reply

