Autobiography Response

What hidden messages are now visible to you in what you could offer as your autobiography? For example, what does it mean that you did not address your gender, or your sexuality or your racialization as important or constitutive of your identity? Take Kumashiro seriously – “We need to be examining our lessons and lenses, their political implications, and possible alternatives…. we need to put front and center the very things we do not want in our … (autobiography), the very things we do not even know are in our … (autobiography).

I think I did not share my gender, sexuality and my racialization because society presumes “Curtis” is a male name.  As a straight male I feel as I did not need to address my sexuality because it is expected.  I did not need to disclose my race because it is expected for me to be white.  This is problematic because our society tells us that we have to address that we label ourselves from outside the  norm.  I see know it is important to treat everyone as equal, we cannot make assumptions.

Leave a Reply

